Boston butt Pork shoulder

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today’s recipe is for pork shoulder that I first smoke on the grill, then finish in a crock pot. I am making this for a friend’s party today and the crock pot helps in transportation, while it continues to cook and stay moist.

I found this at my local grocery store and was happy to pick up a rather large one for cheap, on sale for $1.49lb!

First thing I do with this humongous piece of pork with a large fat cap and bone-in, is wash it up and pat it dry with paper towels. Then I put in a glass casserole dish so I can get to work on an injection. I used ½ cup of Shealy’s vinegar pepper sauce on a 10lb Boston butt. http://www.shealysbbq.com/page.php?pageid=4  Inject into as many spots as you can, then let sit in the fridge for anywhere from a half to two hours.  You can use a disposable aluminum pan, and I use that right on the smoker.

Next I mixed a rub:

1/3 to a ½ cup brown sugar,
3 tablespoons each of paprika, garlic powder, salt.
2 tablespoons onion powder, red pepper flakes, kosher salt
several grinds of coarsely ground black pepper
1 sprigs worth of fresh thyme leaves

After that I soaked some apple wood chunks in apple juice and prepped my Weber charcoal grill for indirect heat. http://www.weber.com/explore/grills/charcoal-series/one-touch-gold-22-1 I leave the charcoal on each side of the Weber kettle and center is clear. I’ll place the pork in the center over no direct heat with the fat cap facing up. I control the heat with my vents to get the temp to stay under 300-350 degrees Fahrenheit.  First round of smoking will be for 2 hours. Then I will flip over the pork to put the now crispy fat on the bottom for another hour. There will be a lot of juices in the pan by now. Have another clean aluminum pan to transfer the pork to. It will be getting I beautiful smoky crust all over, it’s not BURNT!

The last hour is in a clean aluminum pan with 2 cups apple juice and 1 cup apple cider vinegar. (Or substitute with more vinegar pepper sauce) You can smoke this again on the grill until it is 155*F, but since I am going to travel with it, I put into the crock pot.  It will fall apart in as little as an hour on medium. Once it can be hand-picked, time to get some industrial cleaning gloves (clean or new) and pull that thing apart the best way there is.

If you prefer to chop or slice you can, but with your hands is the easiest. The only thing I remove is the fat cap and the bone, because the rest is all moist, succulent pulled pork ready for enjoying.

Since I am doing this right now…pics will follow.

I am off to the party!

-J

Tags: , , , , ,

About 34BBQ

I am here to share my experiences in the culinary outdoors...and to get people grilling all year 'round! I am "culinary enthusiast" who studied the arts at Culinary and Wine Institute - University of South Carolina. I love food photography and BBQ and I like to cook using my outdoor grills as much as I can. -Jay

Leave a Reply

