Bio


Forty something native of New England, now resident of the Deep South.

My name is Jay. I am a culinary enthusiast  and non-professional grill/pit master. I do have a culinary background in my family; my Grandfather was an executive chef instructor at Johnson and Wales, Providence and I went to The Culinary and Wine Institute at the University of South Carolina. I don’t get paid to cook – this is a hobby that literally feeds me.

I have a tremendous amount of fun cooking for friends and family. Loving the process of cooking isn’t for everybody, but learning more about what you feed yourself can be a very rewarding thing!

What I didn’t learn in the culinary classroom I learned from trial and error method, watching a lot of cooking shows and read a lot of cookbooks. I determined one thing…you can’t learn until you try and fail. Rarely do you hit a home run in your first attempt.

What I would like to do is jump start your process by sharing my experiences so you can get right into it. I will share techniques, recipes, equipment and gear I use, how to shop for everything I cook, and how to get your whole family involved. I will show you how to eat well, save money where you can, and WOW your friends and family!

Another thing I try to do is use fresh, local ingredients (as much as I can).  I am very realistic and realize that not everyone can go to the local farmers market every week. A lot of us have to shop at “regular” grocery stores, bodegas and big box stores. Being creative, I hope to bring excitement and inspirations to your dishes.

-Jay

Tags: , ,

About 34BBQ

I am here to share my experiences in the culinary outdoors...and to get people grilling all year 'round! I am "culinary enthusiast" who studied the arts at Culinary and Wine Institute - University of South Carolina. I love food photography and BBQ and I like to cook using my outdoor grills as much as I can. -Jay

One response to “Bio”

  1. Denise says :

    Am looking forward to your recipes and cooking tips. Need some new ideas for the grill.

Leave a Reply

